GOP- Live Tweets

October 28, 2015.

This was the third round of the Republican presidential debate and we, as a class, had the opportunity to experience, for those who have not done so before, our first live tweeting session. In my opinion, this was a bit of an overwhelming experience but not in a bad way. It was very exciting and had everyone on their toes, ready to type and find out more info to give out to their followers. This exercise was actually the most involved and exciting thing we have done all semester if you ask me!

To start off, I began with a simple greeting to my followers to let them know that I will be live tweeting. This is something I believe to be very important because had I had not told them that they would have thought that I was just spewing out info and was very passionate about the debate.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.44.45 PM

Next I let my viewers know the opening question which was

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.43.59 PM

I then went into things that I thought were interesting and funny to comment on like: 

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.42.50 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.38.05 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.39.13 PM

Next there was an interesting and funny comment made by Ted Cruz in his intro to the panel: Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.37.44 PM

The debate at one point went into an argument between Trump (of course) and John Kasich over Lehman Brothers which I, not knowing much about politics, had to look up separately to find out more info:

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.37.19 PM

There was a jab to my fav Hilary Clinton from Marc Rubio where I included an earlier article about him talking about her:

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.36.38 PM

Another jab at Hilary made by Carly Fiorina to which the audience went wild with applause, but personally I retweeted:

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.36.19 PM

I then tried to counter by anger/frustration by lightening the mood and included a funny meme I found on Twitter about Huckabee and social security: 

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.35.47 PM

As time was slowly coming to a close, there were only a couple of seconds left in the first 30mins of what we were going to watch as a class, so I decided to end on a very Prianka style moment, which was to include a funny pun for all my followers who love my humor:

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 3.34.25 PM

As you can tell I had a blast with my tweets, inserting my humor whenever possible to make light of this intense debate. I told myself before this assignment to try and have a biased opinion, and not insert myself too much, but as mentioned by a peer, you can clearly tell which political parties people in the class are rooting for.

One thought on “GOP- Live Tweets

Leave a Reply

